粉末生产

与其他粉末供应商相比,LPW Technology公司独家提供了采用几种不同方法制造的粉末。 每个工艺流程都具有明显的优缺点。以下说明了常见的工艺流程。 然而,对于具体询价,包括我们的预混合含钴碳化钨和镍基体粉末的信息, 请直接与 我们联系

粉末生产方法

气体雾化

最常见的粉末生产方法。 元素原料在空气或惰性气体包层下或在真空下熔融。随后用气体回填该室,以迫使熔融合金通过高速空气、氮、氦或氩气体冲击流动熔体并将其分解的喷嘴。 粉末大多呈球形,其中存在一些不对称的颗粒及伴生物。 伴生物是在固化期间较小的颗粒粘附到较大的颗粒时形成的。 炉容量范围为5千克至3000千克。 尺寸范围为0至500微米。 在20到150微米范围内的产量在总产量的10至50%之间波动。 主要用于镍、钴和铁的合金,也可用于钛和铝合金。

水雾化

类似于气体雾化,但是水作为雾化介质。主要用于非反应性材料(如钢),并且会产生不规则形状的颗粒。

等离子体雾化

一种相对较新的生产高品质和极球形粉末的技术。借助于雾化粉末的气体,将线材原料供给到等离子体炬内。 尺寸范围为0至200微米。仅限于可形成线材原料的合金。

EIGA(电极感应熔融气体雾化)

适用于所有合金,但与活性合金(如钛)一起使用时最为经济。 旋转棒材形式的原料并通过感应线圈熔化。 熔融金属薄膜向下流入气流中以进行雾化。因此,材料在处理期间不与熔炉或电极接触。 粉末尺寸为0至500微米,并且形态类似于气体雾化。 工艺成本低廉、清洁,适用于小批量和生产小直径粉末。

类似于EIGA工艺,但旋转的原料棒材在与等离子体接触时熔化 粉末呈极球形,但产量限制在100微米以下,因此价格可能非常高

eiga

离心雾化

一种非广泛使用的简单工艺。 气体雾化与等离子体雾化之间的良好折衷。产生比气体雾化更为球形且具有更低滞留气体孔隙度但并非等离子体雾化或PREP的质量的粉末。 然而,价格比PREP和等离子体雾化更为低廉。 最适合于较大批量的低活性低熔点温度的合金,但也可以制造镍基高温合金。

等离子体球化

LPW Technology使用高能等离子体来生产高度球形和致密的金属粉末。LPW系统使用等离子体将通过喷雾干燥或烧结技术产生的团聚粉末或通过常规破碎方法产生的角状粉末转变为球形粉末。粉末从顶部重力供给,并且根据具体的粉末特性,使用各种不同的喷嘴类型通过等离子体喷射。 单个粉末颗粒完全熔化并固化为球形。 等离子体处理的粉末完全致密并呈高度球形。 表面污染也通过杂质汽化而显着降低。

在LPW,我们在增材制造(AM)方面拥有高水平的专业知识,并与航空航天、生物医学和汽车行业的顶尖公司拥有长期合作经验。 利用这些知识和等离子体技术能力,我们能够生产高度球形和低污染的粉末:

  • 高熔融温度的难熔金属,如钽、钨、铌和钼
  • 客户特定的金属和陶瓷成分
  • 对于通过气体或水雾化生产的标准产品,提高其流动性并降低其污染水平
  • 修复已在AM机器内使用多次的金属粉末。 在使用过程中,粉末纯度、形态和表面污染的变化,尤其是氧、氮和氢

技术库

关于LPW Technology公司所提供的标准增材制造粉末以及粉末选择工具的信息。

案例研究

研究粉末与机器参数如何影响粉末成份的最终构建和环境影响。

宣传册

我们的宣传手册概述了LPW Technology公司的增材制造粉末与服务,可在此处下载该手册。

研究与开发

LPW Technology公司与合作伙伴组织开展的开拓性合作研究计划的详细信息

Powder production

Uniquely compared to other powder suppliers, LPW Technology offers powder manufactured by several different methods. Each process has distinct advantages and disadvantages. The common processes are explained below. However, for specific enquires, including information on our range of pre-blended Tungsten Carbide containing Cobalt and Nickel matrix powders, please contact us directly.

Methods of Powder production

Gas atomisation

The most common method of powder production. Elemental feedstock is melted under an air or inert gas blanket, or under vacuum. The chamber is then backfilled with gas to force molten alloy through a nozzle where high velocity air, N, He or Ar gas impinges onto the flowing melt and breaks it up. Powder is mostly spherical, with some asymmetric particles and satellites present. A satellite is when a smaller particle sticks to a larger one during solidification. Heat sizes range from 5kg to 3000kg. Size ranges from 0 to 500 micron. Yield within 20-150 micron range varies from 10 to 50% of total. Mostly used for Ni, Co and Fe alloys, also available for Ti and Al alloys.

gas-atomised

Water atomisation

Similar to gas atomisation but water is employed as the atomising medium. Used mostly for unreactive materials such as steels, it produces irregular shaped particles.

Plasma atomisation

A relatively new technique that produces high quality and extremely spherical powder. Wire feedstock is fed into a plasma torch that with the aid of gases atomised the powder. Size ranges from 0 – 200 micron. Limited to alloys that can be formed into a wire feedstock.

plasma-atomised

EIGA (Electrode Induction melting Gas Atomisation)

Works with all alloys but is most economic with reactive alloys like Ti. Feedstock, in the form of bar, is rotated and melted by an induction coil. A film of molten metal flows downwards into a gas stream for atomisation. Therefore, material does not come in contact with either crucible or electrode during process. Powder size is 0 to 500 micron and morphology is similar to gas atomised. Process is cheap, clean, good for small batches and produces small diameter powder.

 

eiga

 

PREP (Plasma Rotating Electrode Process)

Similar to EIGA process but the rotating feedstock bar is melted when it comes into contact with a plasma. Powders are extremely spherical but yields are limited below 100 micron, so price can be very high.

Centrifugal atomisation

A simple process that is not in wide-spread use. A good compromise between Gas Atomised and Plasma Atomisation. Generates powder that is more spherical and has lower entrapped gas porosity than Gas Atomisation but not to the quality of Plasma Atomisation or PREP. However, is cheaper than both PREP and Plasma Atomisation. Best suited to larger batch sizes of less reactive low melting temperature alloys, but can also make Nickel superalloys.

Plasma Spheroidisation

LPW Technology uses high energy plasma to produce highly spherical and dense metallic powders. LPW’s system uses plasma to transform agglomerated powders produced by spray drying or sintering techniques, or angular powders produced by conventional crushing methods, into spherical powder. Powder is gravity fed from the top and it is sprayed through the plasma by using various nozzle types depending on specific powder characteristics. Individual powder particles are completely melted and solidify in a spherical shape. Plasma treated powder is fully dense and highly spherical. Surface contamination is also significantly reduced through the vaporisation of impurities.

At LPW we have a high level of expertise in Additive Manufacturing (AM) and a long experience of working with leading companies within the aerospace, biomedical, and automotive industries. We utilise this knowledge and the capabilities of plasma technology to produce highly spherical and low contamination powders:

  • High melting temperature refractory metals such as Ta, W, Nb, and Mo
  • Customer specific metallic and ceramic compositions
  • Improve flowability and reduce contamination levels of standard products produced by gas or water atomisation
  • Reconditioning of metallic powders that have been used several times within an AM machine. Powder purity, morphology, and surface contamination change during use, especially Oxygen, Nitrogen, and Hydrogen

plasmaatomisation

Technical library

Information about the standard Additive Manufacturing powders provided by LPW Technology.

Case studies

Research undertaken into how powders and machine parameters can affect final build and environmental effects on powder composition.

Brochures

Our brochures provide an overview of Additive Manufacturing powders and services from LPW Technology, download them here.

Research & development

Details of the pioneering programmes of collaborative research LPW Technology is working on with partner organisations.